Learning from Listening

Vol: 183 | 1 September 2017

Perform Mozart’s operas at home,
discover the sorcerer of Yuja Wang,
and have you ever played C.P.E. Bach’s viola concerto?

Mechanical Beethoven
The metronome and
Mechanical clocks
Music and Madness
Depiction of psychosis
Muses and Musings
Frédéric Chopin and
the Divine Therese Apponyi
Beethovenfest Bonn
Held in Beethoven’s hometown Bonn, the tradition of the Beethovenfest can be traced back in 1845, when the event celebrated the 75th anniversary of the composer’s birth. Today, the festival has become a prestigious cultural event dedicated to Beethoven with the participation of top international orchestras...
Date: September 8 to October 1, 2017
Country: Germany
What's New
Learning from Listening Doing Opera at Home
There are many benefits in listening to the repertoire you are working on, on disc and in concert, as well as “listening around” the music – works from the same period by the same composer, and works by his/her contemporaries. Such listening gives us a clearer sense of the composer’s individual soundworld...
Until recordings became common in the latter part of the 20th century, the only way to hear some of the great works was to attend a performance or to have your own orchestra. For the rest of the music-loving world, however, the music of the great composers was available, but in a slightly different form...
more... more...
The Henri Casadesus Viola Inventions The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
Gary Graffman and Yuja Wang
The surname Casadesus identifies a prominent French artistic family. An integral part of the international classical music landscape, the Casadesus family remained artistically active for well over a century. Arguably, the most prominent member of the family was pianist Robert Casadesus...
We all know that Yuja Wang was born in Beijing, but she is deliberately vague about her emergence as a prodigy. She always likes to tell interviewers that her mother wanted her to be a dancer, “but that she was lazy and chose the piano because she could sit down...”
more... more...
My music Video Forgotten records

Piano Sonata D. 664
II. Andante

Henri Casadesus:
“Johann Christian Bach”
viola Concerto

String Quartet No. 1
in D major, op. 11

listen watch listen
Copyright Interlude.hk 2017 All rights reserved.
Important: If you are not receiving Interlude's newsletter regularly, please check your spam folder. Also add the address info@interlude.hk to your addressbook.